Evolution of an iPod Touch Photo

by Jason Alan

Some photographers may say that an expensive, high resolution camera is one of the key elements of a great picture. While I do agree that this may be true for professionals, not only am I too broke to afford a good camera, I’m also not a professional. I just take photos because I enjoy doing it. I have heard that the best camera is the one you have on you. So since I pretty much always have my iPod touch, that’s what I use. I even use it through the editing process, which goes a little something like this:

Last year I took a short video clip to include in a documentary that seems like I may never finish. This is a screenshot from that. Since it was taken from the 720p video that the iPod provides, it embarks on its editing journey as a higher resolution than if I had only taken a still shot. Still photos at the most are 960 by 720 pixels, which is less than 1 megapixel. This is the original pic:

The first step is usually to open the pic with Photoshop Express, a free app that offers basic options such as black and white, exposure, crop, various borders, among others. On this one I just used the sharpen feature to bring out the detail a bit.

Then I used HDR For Free, another free app (who would’ve guessed?) to bring out the color. It’s coming out quite nicely.

I could stop there with just a couple of steps, or I could make it black and white…

…and I would have some pretty decent photos. But some shots, like this one, cry out for just a bit more. So I used another app called Color Splash, which is only a buck in the app store. This app lets you use your finger to add or remove color, zooming in when necessary. You can do it as it looks already, or you can make it red so as you go it’s easier to see if you’ve missed some spots.

You can invert it, also.

So now you have a color train rolling through black and white terrain…

…or my personal favorite, (save the best for last, eh?) the black and white train in a world of color. As if a space/time wormhole opened up and a train from the past came barreling through. Yes, I know that things weren’t actually black and white a long time ago, but sometimes I like to think they were.

That makes six photos, not including the red ones, from one shot. When you’re done with your own, you can choose your favorite, or favorites, to share. Or you could just do what I did and use them all.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.