The Dream

by Jason Alan

An elderly couple had just woken up one Sunday morning. As they got up and started downstairs to have breakfast, the man began telling her about the dream he just had.

“The beginning is a bit sketchy, really, I don’t remember much,” he began, “only that I was in a house similar to our own. But it wasn’t our house.”

The wife listened silently as they entered the dining room.

“All of my friends were there. We were drinking and playing pool, listening to music and having a great time.”

“That sounds lovely, dear,” she responded.

“But wait, there’s more. There was a woman in the room. She was young and beautiful. Dressed in a sexy yet tasteful outfit. Probably the most gorgeous woman I had ever seen in my life. Aside from you, of course.”

The wife rolled her eyes a bit at that.

“I walked up to her and put a hundred dollar bill on the table in front of her. She just snickered and turned her head.”

The wife crossed her arms and looked at him quizzically. “Oh, really?”

“I put another hundred down, and she laughed. Then another hundred. She told me I was getting warmer, so I just said to hell with it and put everything down. It must have been over a thousand dollars.”

His wife continued to stare at him. She didn’t look pleased.

“Then the woman smiled, took all the money and we went upstairs. We made love that set the world ablaze. It felt so real. It was like when we were young. So much passion. It was absolutely amazing. Right after it was over, I woke up.”

The wife said, “How dare you!” and raised her hand to slap him.

The husband put his hands up and said “Wait! Wait! I had stolen it from her purse! It wasn’t our money!”

“Oh,” she said, and put her hand down. “So, how would you like your eggs, dear?”