Obsessed with God?

by Jason Alan

This is for all the people on twitter that say some atheists are ‘obsessed with God’ because they spend time conversing with people whose crazy ideas are harming society.

First of all, these atheists are not going to people’s homes and arguing with them. They are talking to people on a PUBLIC FORUM, and the ‘believers’ can easily block whoever they want. And trust me, they do. I’ve been blocked several times after making one innocuous comment that was not rude or hateful. I just expressed my disagreement and they didn’t want to hear it. That’s fine, but how are you going to learn anything in life when you only accept one thing as truth?

If atheists want to build tax-free miniature castles and diddle children in them, then I’ll have a problem with it. If atheists start praying in public so their sports team will win, I’ll have a problem with it. If atheists want to give credit to a made up man in another universe instead of thanking their family and friends, and themselves for once, then I’ll have a problem with it. If atheists want to use propaganda to justify bigotry, homophobia and sexism, then I’ll have a problem with it. When atheists tell me that Satan or some other ‘evil force’ is guiding my hand simply when I disagree with them, I’ll have a fucking problem with it. When an atheist tells me that I will burn in a pit of fire for all eternity simply because I don’t believe the same thing they do, I WILL HAVE A PROBLEM WITH IT.

If you want to believe in God, go for it. I have absolutely no problem with that. But when your religion affects the world around us in a negative fashion, THEN I will have something to say about it.

Atheists are not ‘obsessed with God’. They don’t believe in God. They are arguing with idiots who refuse to even entertain the idea that they might be wrong, even though they have nothing to base their belief on other than that’s what they’ve been force fed since they were children.

I do not have to respect your beliefs, as you do not have to respect mine. I do, however, respect your right to believe.