The Blog Hop (no actual hopping required)

by Jason Alan

I was given the opportunity to participate in something called a blog hop. It’s basically a fellow writer who asks other people questions, and believe it or not, we answer them. I know, sounds crazy, huh? I think I’m supposed to invite five other people, but since I’m posting this on a blog that more than five people read (six at last count), that should be enough. Plus, I’m feeling a bit lazy, which isn’t out of character for me. Anyhooo, check out the author who asked these questions about my (still in progress) novel, and maybe check out my book, too.

Terah Van Dusen

For Want of a Stone

1: What is the working title of your book?

The name of the book is For Want of a Stone.

2: Where did the idea come from for the book?

When I was in fifth grade, a friend and I came up with an idea for a story. Together, we wrote more than 40 pages before it somehow got lost. A few years ago, I decided to use some of the basic concepts for it. Hopefully my writing has matured a bit since I was eleven years old.

3: What genre does your book come under?

The genre is fantasy.

4: Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I haven’t really given much thought to what actors/actresses would play the characters. Regardless, I don’t think I would have much of a say in the decision if that were to happen.

5: What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

A boy decides to build a castle, a dragon destroys it, so he decides that the beast must pay for what it has done.

6: Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency?

It will be self-published as an ebook on amazon, and on createspace for paperback.

7: How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

On and off, it’s been about three years. Approximately. I am horrible with dates. And remembering shit. Oh, and it isn’t finished yet, so who knows how long it will take.

8: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I haven’t read many fantasy books, so I haven’t come across any that are similar.

9: Who or what inspired you to write this book?

It’s been over twenty years since the original idea, so I really don’t remember.

10: What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Although it is a fantasy book, the only element of fantasy is the dragon. There are no wizards or magic, it’s mainly real life subjects and people.